Episode 23: URNOT(red)E (1995-2001)

Post-production notes:

As I continue to catch up on posting April’s videos here on the blog, the post-production notes will continue to be brief.

There’s no question that the PlayStation was a big deal to me. From the first time I tried Ridge Racer, I knew that I had to have one– and I continue to enjoy PlayStation games to this day. In fact, I spent a good part of a recent afternoon playing games like NHL Championship 2000 and Big Ol’ Bass 2. Sure, the graphics may not have aged very well in many cases (as compared to what we see today), but that doesn’t mean that the games are any less enjoyable to me.

I could have covered so much more in this video, like the epic year of 1997 that delivered games like Ace Combat 2, Final Fantasy VII, Castlevania: Symphony of the Night, PaRappa the Rapper, and more. I could’ve mentioned how the PlayStation introduced me to Tekken, or how I got my space combat game fix with Wing Commander III & IV, the Colony Wars series, and more. I spent a lot of time on the PlayStation, and it even competed for playing time against my Dreamcast in 2000-01.

I’ll probably revisit the PlayStation in a later episode– especially if I get my hands on an actual PlayStation console again (versus playing the games on my PS2, like I do now).

As always, thanks so much for watching.

About Pete Skerritt

My Retro Unscripted project is a series of YouTube videos shot with no scripts or editing, covering video games and systems from the early days of arcades through the PlayStation 2, Gamecube, and Xbox generation of consoles. In addition to the video content, there will also be written pieces here on the blog. Opinions, reviews, observations, and more will complement the videos and make Retro Unscripted a multimedia project.

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Video Episodes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Got something to say? Now's your chance!

