Episode 25: Saluting Sandy

Post-production notes:

This was my birthday video, and I decided to dedicate it to my mom. After all, if it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t be here.

I talk a bit here about the change between my youth and my adult life, and how my mom’s stance on and support of my video game hobby evolved. For my mom to buy gaming-related gifts for special occasions now, it’s a big turnaround from having her basically keep her distance from them. I completely understand the reasons why she felt the way she did; money used to be a problem, then it was an issue of balancing social life and real-world responsibilities with gaming, and then there was an acceptance that came with my 40th birthday and my desire to build a library of older games and systems.

She understands my motivations now, and I’m a bit wiser now than I was in my younger years. These older games represent events in my life, signposts of years gone by. She not only understands, but she supports what I’m doing and why I’m doing it. That’s perhaps one of the greatest gifts that I could ask for.

As always, thanks so much for watching.

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Video Episodes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Got something to say? Now's your chance!

