Pete Plays: Ridge Racer (PlayStation)

Post-production notes:

I’m still catching up on cross-posting my videos from April here on the blog, so post-production notes will be brief here.

Ridge Racer was the game that started it all for me, when it came to my love of the PlayStation. It was fast, colorful, and tight. It took me a few weeks to learn to clear all of the Galaxian enemies during the loading screen, and I was still inconsistent in doing so for years after… so it’s pretty neat that I was able to do that on video here.

Honestly, it never bothered me that the game was a pretty short experience. After all, it’s an arcade game. Beating record times and unlocking what’s there to unlock was enough to keep me coming back… plus it’s perfect for limited game time. If I have a few extra minutes, I can pop this in and run a few races before doing whatever else I need to do. It might be a tougher sell if it was new these days, given our expectations of new games and how long they should last… but I don’t hold brevity against this game.

I would go on to buy future Ridge Racer games for years. Ridge Racer Revolution, Rage Racer, R4, Ridge Racer V, and more found their way into my library. Each new game meant new challenges, new rides, and lots of fun. It’s a shame that the series is pretty much on life support now, but it had a great run.

As always, thanks for watching!

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Pete Plays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Got something to say? Now's your chance!

